Hangzhou Attractions – Impression West Lake (印象西湖)

Though I read good reviews about the show I was undecided as to whether to attend the show prior to the trip. I didn’t book our tickets until one day before the show.  I booked the RMB260 tickets through our hotel.  I was given a receipt and had to collect the tickets at the official ticket booth located at Yue Lake (opposite Yuewang Temple) on the day of the show.  Yue Lake (岳湖) is also the venue of the show.

I don’t think it’s necessary to book the tickets in advance – when I collected the tickets before the show, I saw people buying tickets on the spot.  Our seats were located on the far left of section A2 – which is really good as most of the action took place near this section.

The show is directed by Zhang Yimou (张艺谋) with music score by Kitaro and vocals by Zhang Liangying (张靓颖) was first held in 2007.  It’s the third Impression outdoor musical series by Zhang Yimou.

After watching the show, I strongly recommend it if you are visiting Hangzhou.  It was money well spent as you get to enjoy an hour of dazzling and mesmerizing display of lights, music and dance.  Hundreds of dancers perform on a stage built 3cm below the water giving an impression that they are floating on water.

Here is what I managed to capture of the show as performed on 10th October 2013.

Love to hear from you

